iPhone – Cannot send mail, no password provided for account

Found my iPhone refusing to send email today despite months of reliable operation. No obvious changes I’m aware of since I last successfully sent email. It reported:

Cannot send mail, no password provided for account

Strange – the password was set. I tried entering the correct password again – important data point, no “Verifying …” cycle. Still failed. Set it to something wrong, “Verifying …” ran and confirmed it was wrong. I set it right, no “Verifying …” cycle. Still not working. Cold booted the phone (power + home held until you see the Apple logo). No joy. Killed Mail. No joy. Hmm.

Finally fixed it. I set the password incorrectly, let the “Verifying …” cycle run (and fail) but saved the settings anyway. Tried to send email, password incorrect. Set the password correctly, verifies OK, now it all works.

YMMV.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Ryan Tracey

     /  April 17, 2013

    I too have found odd things like this happening occasionally on my iPhone. Ironically, I find the most unreliable functionality to be the phone!

    In fact I’m considering the Big Switch – to Android.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

